Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

History

Skeet Hill House was originally the Dower House of the nearby Lulling - 1769 stone Castle Estate and dates back more than 400 years. Lullingstone Castle Estate is a stunning 15-acre estate, built in 1497 and have been home to the same family ever since. Both Henry VIII and Queen Anne are known to have been regular visitors. Hidden in the grounds, alongside the River Darent, visitors will also find “Queen Anne’s” Bathhouse and an 18th century Ice House. Lullingstone was home to the famous Silk Farm, established in the 1930s, which produced silk for Queen Elizabeth II’s coronation robes and wedding dress. Lullingstone was also taken over by the British Army during World War Two and the fields behind the Gatehouse hosted a dummy airfield. Lullingstone also has an interesting involvement with lawn tennis, dating back to the 1870s when the rules for the game were drawn up. Skeet Hill House was purchased by The Jewish Youth Fund (JYF) in 1943 for use by the The Brady Boys’ Club as a place of respite from the difficulties and dangers of life in the war-torn East End of London. JYF still own Skeet, though it is managed day to day by The Skeet Hill Management Trust.

Policies

Click here to view our Policies page. Each policy has a published date and will be reviewed periodically, to ensure our policies meet the needs of our visitors and employees.

Copyright © 2019 Skeet Hill House Kent. All Rights Reserved. View our Privacy Policy.